Such a tragedy

Just thought about a band I hadn’t thought about in years. Not for three years at all; not for eight years with anything more than a passing thought.

The band in question is Theatre of Tragedy. After three albums I really liked they did in 2000 one called Musique, which “marked the switch from gothic metal with Early Modern English lyrics to a more electronic style, using Modern English.” Soon after my interest in them waned, and eventually I lost what CDs I had.

Maybe I should go hunting, see if my trusty commercial internet music provider has the old ones. Meanwhile, here’s one good old piece, “Aoede” off of Aegis (1998).

(Have a stab at Poppaea, too. And for the “after” sound, try Automatic Lover. Not bad music by any standards of mine, but I wanted my Early Modern English!)

Leave a Reply

