Back to the salt mines

First day at work after the holiday; back at the thesis. The preface has come from this to this:

*

An academic life is much like that of a butterfly. You begin as a larva, mindlessly crawling around; then you graduate into the life of a precious, fragile butterfly. Then you enter graduate school, much as the butterfly is captured by a deft lepidopterist; and a cruel needle pierces you and you are left to waste away in a dusty glass-fronted cabin somewhere, forever.

Then, when all hope has been lost and your relatives have nearly stopped asking you when you’ll graduate, you do. Or die. In either case, if reports from the other side are to be believed, what had been an uncertain, soul-crushing existence of arbitrary injustices and humiliations becomes even more so.

I wish to thank, and indeed I do thank my advisor name removed for his endless patience.

Also, thanks to the people who have given me money. I love money. I love it! Euros and dollars, marks and zloty, yen and whatever, there’s nothing I adore as much as cash!

I thank my parents, brothers, uncles, cousins, and Vladimir Putin, the President of the Russian Federation. May death come swiftly to his enemies. And all you people who have asked me over the years some variation of this question: ”What is it that you do over there at the university?” — well, this is the book you are gonna get if you ask me now. C’mon punks, do ya feel lucky?

*

Needs work; I suppose the advisor would say, “A little bit too political. Maybe ‘May death come smoothly to his enemies’, I don’t think swiftness has been proven yet. Maybe quasi-smoothly outside a set of finite Leninesque measure if you want to hedge things”.

No, wait, I suppose the advisor would say, “What the fuck?”

2 Responses to “Back to the salt mines”

  1. Lina Says:

    This design is spectacular! You definitely know how to keep
    a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  2. skin whitening Says:

    I write a leave a response when I appreciate a article on a website or if I have something to contribute to
    the conversation. It’s caused by the sincerness communicated in the post I read. And after this article Back to the salt mines Masks of Eris. I was actually excited enough to leave a comment ;-) I do have a few questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be simply me or do some of the comments look like they are left by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on other online sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list all of all your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

